Live Blog – The Semi Final!

 
The Dancing On Ice Live Blog & Chat is running now…

As always tap F5 to refresh as we go along and click to leave your views as each act performs. The skaters have been perfecting everything from flips to Flambos, will they be drastic or fantastic?

Click here to leave your views..

So it’s been a traumatic week… The celebs have trained like crazy to perfect their solo routines but who will be the one to shine and who will buckle under the pressure? The judges are basing their marks on how they fair alone… Head Judge Robin Cousins says it all, "if they come out and perform like finalists, they will be finalists… someone is going home!"

We kick things off with a sensational routine from the ‘lebs and our legendary Olympic champs, I’m in awe as Gary Lucy lifts Jayne – you can see he’s nervous but he glides along like a pro!

It’s a cracking start to George Michael’s Always and a confidence builder in preparation for the skaters solo spots later…

In case you haven’t gathered, the required element tonight is a solo spot and each celeb must perform alone for (at least) the first 20 seconds of their routine.

So who’s first?

Hayley Tamaddon has a lot to prove this week. She’s been top of the leaderboard since the series began but lost her placing last week when Danniella pipped her to the post. Personally, I thought it was well deserved as Hayley and Dan went from original to sickly sweet, but fingers crossed they’ll pull it back this time around…

Her solo spot goes well but I’m sorry to say it’s a rather subdued routine once more. I can’t say I enjoy the ‘slowies’ from these two, they seem to be much more suited to punchy performances with ‘pop’. Do you agree?

Click here to leave your views..

There’s a pitchfork counterbalance, a wrap-around, a solo spin, a spiral, crossovers and much much more. The routine is packed but it’s missing that x-factor for me, dare I say it’s a little wet? Maybe I was expecting a little too much? I thought Hayley would throw something sensational into her solo – I’ll never forget that spin from Chris fountain, wow!

27.5 points and 6 from Robin Cousins.

Robin can’t praise Hayley enough. "During rehearsal there were moments when it was jarring during the transitions but it was just beautiful tonight". Jaycen agrees that it was sensational but he was hoping for "more release". 

Nicky agrees that it was beautiful but did not award a 6 as the skating is slow. He’s booed by the crowd but I have to agree…

Click here to leave your views..

I think if this was a ‘nice guy’ contest Gary Lucy would win hands down. He’s trying so hard and as the most uncoordinated contestant it’s an uphill climb. He and Maria perform to You and Me Always and Forever and he has the steps down but it’s a little cheesy – sorry. I was hoping for so much from the semi-finals and I’m yet to be blown away… Will anyone give us a showstopper tonight?

It may have been disappointing for semi-final standards but it’s Gary’s best yet. There’s a crucifix with roll up, barrel rolls, a wrist ripper… Hang on – he just threw a jump in there from nowhere, good for you Gazza!

24.5 points! Earned!

The judges love that Gary has improved so much but Jason is cutting and knocks him down… "It’s all the same, you’re like skating Valium to me. You’re a good looking boy but it’s so boring!" Ouch! Easy tiger, I though it was one of his best, did you? Maybe if he stripped like Danny Young he’d impress Jason more. Is that right though?

Click here to leave your views..

Now this could be interesting… Danniella snaffled the top spot last week with her sexy secretary routine and I’m hoping she’s going to battle to keep it with something fabulous! Let’s see…

Mmm… Nope. Like the others, her solo spot is nothing to write home about but she comes to life when Matthew hits the ice. It’s far more exciting than the others and she almost reminds me of a pro when she lands the lift – the placement and timing is perfect.

There’s a solo spiral, a double stag and a roll up into spin. I’m much happier with this routine, it seems to have grabbed the audience so let’s hope it’s gripped the judges by their button pushing fingers…

23 points (What?)
She’s visibly disappointed with the marks and I have to say, so am I! "You know what Phillip, I’m just so proud that I came out and did it on my own!"

I have to say I’m shocked that the judges marked so low compared to Hayley. I thought that was far more uplifting than some of the other ‘blah’ performances. They all agree that her solo skating skills are not on par with the others and she needs work, I don’t agree. Does anyone get the feeling they’re trying to knock her down a peg or two… unfair in my opinion – unfair!

Maybe it’s a case of best till last and Keiron will blow our socks off? Will he make this his defining moment and earn his place in the final?

Go on lad, I’m rooting for him and I hope he scrapes it – I really do. He and Brianne have made this series something special, he’s been the one that everyone is talking about and you can see how much he loves it. 

The pair perform to I Hope You Had The Time Of You Life and his solo is serene yet hypnotic. There are alternating hyperglides into drags and then Brianne glides into view and is gracefully lifted into a pencil spin. There’s a step sequence followed by a sail lift and although it’s another slow routine, I’m sold. I’d lie to see Danni, Hayley and Kieron in the final.

23 points – too low!

Jason Gardner was not impressed and pulls no punches. "In the Death Spiral you weren’t counterbalancing it and giving a continuous line".

But judge and coach Karen Barber’s having none of his jibes, "I thought it was one of your best performances!" – Me too Karen!

So… who do you want to see in the final?
Who would you have skate again?

Click here to leave your views..

See you back here for the skate-off!

THE SKATE OFF:

Through to next week’s final are…

Hayley & Dan
Kieron & Brianne!
I told you the public love him didn’t I? Bless him, he can’t believe it.

This leaves Danniella and Gary in the skate off. All past mistakes will be forgotten and the skaters will be judges on this performance alone… Who do you think will come out on top?

I feel so sorry for these guys, both celebs have young children and to look out and see them in the audience in tears must be heartbreaking. The kids don’t understand and are gutted to see their Mummy & Daddy in the skate off… It doesn’t help when you’re trying to pull off a solo, poor things!

I thought both skaters improved on their first performance although Danniella’s spiral was a little wobbly. I loved how Gary had a little roll-around and cuddle with Maria on the ice when it was all over. It was a fall but it was after the routine had ended – it doesn’t count against him.

The judges have decided…

Karen finds the decision hard but saves Gary.
Nicky confirms that Gary’s fall was after the routine had ended – "By the skin of his teeth I save Gary".
Jason shakes his head, "I’m judging on performance and I want an exciting final. I save Danniella!"
Emma agrees with Jason.
So it’s two a piece and up to Head Judge Robin Cousins: "I save Gary!"

Danni has had a ball. "It’s been such a joy, to get this far is amazing". She thanks Karen Barber for her training and patience and the coach is in tears.

In a shock result Gary Lucy knocks Daniella Westbrook out of the competition and skates into next week’s final. Kieron, Hayley and Gary will all fly next week and two of them will perform Bolero.

Who do you think will land the Dancing On Ice crown?

Click here to leave your views..

See you back here soon for all the news from training…

Selena x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Live Blog – The Semi Final!

  1. Paul says:

    what is the title of the song Hayley danced to ?

  2. judith says:

    Oh come on!! Hayley\’s skating is far superior to Danniella\’s whether it\’s a fast or slow routine. Last week Dannielle spent more time sat in the chair than skating, a good score for her acting skills.

  3. Selena says:

    I\’m not saying her skating is better than Hayley\’s but the routines the last two weeks have just been so blah compared to Slumdog – When she pulled that out the bag I thought the next few weeks would be killer – but they haven\’t been.

  4. amanda says:

    Hayley was much better than daniella , daniella solo spot wasn\’t very good at all all the other skaters were much better

  5. Debbie says:

    Thought they were all good but i would like to see danniella, kieron in the final show with hayley .

  6. Diane says:

    I loved Hayley\’s performance tonight,she gave a much better performance than Daniella. I sincerely hope that she goes on to win title next week.

  7. Waleola Shammah says:

    hayley is the best of them all.i wish to see her in the final

  8. Selena says:

    If I\’m honest I think all of the solos were disappointing – nothing like the super-spinning Fountain!

  9. tony says:

    hayley should be in the final and i think daniella should go tonight the boys were far better then her tonight and i think jason should go too if he can do better put up or shut up

  10. m says:

    can i ask who designs and dresses holly willabooby? her gowns are gorgeous and I want one that she wore to get married in?

  11. jenny says:

    It isn\’t Hayley who makes up the routines, she dances shat she is told to dance – remember what happened to Sharon Davis for NOT dancing the routine given to her. Give her a routine she can show off to, she can do it. Good luck Hayley.

  12. simon says:

    Are you having a laugh?…I\’m sorry but there was no comparison…Gary is a nice guy but hardly exciting..Danniella was by far the better entertainer..Robin Cousins..You should be ashamed of yourself!!

  13. Ann says:

    I thought Danielle should have gone through ,she.s much more entertainig to watch.Gary is boing to watch,nice guy though,Hayley should win the finale

  14. Christopher says:

    At last, The hold on " Skater " is gone. Yeah, about time too. I wonder who " Baby" Spice will vote for now. Her beloved Daniella has been voted off, what will she do? Girl Power? Schmoo power more like. Daniella`s routine tonight was so static I thought she was taking root on the ice.

  15. anne says:

    I am a great fan of Torville and Dean and have enjoyed the series. I have been a fan of Torville and Dean since the very beginning of their careers. They have done a tremendous job with all the skaters and every week there is something new and exciting about the routines. The routines are outstanding and the costumes terrific, I cannot fault the programme in any way, except for the one judge who always looks on the negative side, you know the one I mean. I would love to see him on the ice and let the contestants give their opionions on his skating and skills, that would be something to see. I feel Robin is always fair in his comments, as are the other Judges, but I\’m afraid I shout at the negative one, he really should try and be a bit more careful as to what he says, as sometimes its hurting to the contestants. I would love to meet Torville and Dean and of course see the show live. I will try again and maybe, just maybe, be lucky to see the Show in the flesh. My compliaments to Torville and Dean for giving us a wonderful show every week, they are tremendous and I applaud them. My Good Wishes to all on the show, and I am waiting with bated breath to see who wins. They are all fantastic and I wish all the finalists Good Luck. Thank you for this opportunity to show my appreciation for the marvelous show. Best Wishes from Mrs. Anne French.

  16. anne says:

    I have been a Torville and Dean fan for many years now, since they first started in fact. I have watched every show of this new series and have really, really enjoyed every second of it. Torville and Dean are the masters of their art and I applaud them. The contestants have all done amazingly well and I await the outcome with bated breath as the Final comes closer. I wish all the finalists Good Luck in the Final. I have tried several times to win 2 tickets to see the show, but now its the last chance and I will try again. I would be estatic to meet Torville and Dean, and of course the the Final. I must Congratulate Torville and Dean on presenting us with a truely marvelous show every week, they are indeed masters of the craft and I applaud them and wish them every success for the future, no matter what they are planning. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity to put how I feel down in black and white, so to speak. As far as I am concerned Torville and Dean can do no wrong. No doubt there are many, many fans who would like to see the Final in person, but I would love to be there. Anyway, nothing ventured, nothing gained.From a most Loyal Fan Mrs. Anne French. Regards to all on the show.

  17. anne says:

    I don\’t seem to be able to gain access to the competition section to try for the final show the answer to the question this evening is B. Time is running out so I trust you will be able to put this forward for me. Many thanks. Anne French

  18. rosemary says:

    i have been a fan of dancing on ice since it started but i do think that if jason dislikes someone it shows for instane he has marked garry lucy down every week even if he has done better i genuinely think jason dislikes gary and he hated sharon and i think it is his time to GO

  19. Unknown says:

    The right person was definitely picked to leave the show. Danielle is far too inconsistent to be in the final. I hope Hayley and Dan win as they really do deserve to be this years winners.

  20. Clare says:

    I am glad Danielle went, Hayely and Dan are brilliant, though I must say I think they skate the fast numbers better. The pussycat dolls routine was fantastic, I do not think anybody can top that. Hayley & Dan to win

  21. diane says:

    HURRAY " GARY IN THE FINALS"

  22. Brian says:

    Hayley and Dan can only skate as fast as the music allows and they don\’t pick this, its picked by the \’experts\’. Do they pick slow stuff so Hayley & Dn are elininated? if so tough they are by far the best

  23. richard says:

    i love the skating but sorry the judges well to me hayleys good but robin it was not worth a 6 to me her solo was slow i totaly agree with nicky go keiran go

  24. Unknown says:

    Am I the only one that has noticed that Daniella was not dancing on ice? Most of the time when… she was alone, which was rare, she was wobbling. The secretary routine she was in the chair. Granted she is brave within the partnership, to be thrown about like that..I\’m pleased she\’s left, surprised it wasn\’t a long time ago. Carole

  25. caroline says:

    The song that kieron was skating to is called Good riddance (time of your life) by green day

  26. Cat says:

    i know that hayley and daniel will win this competition out right because they have upped there game and its getting really hot now its really exciting to see who wins the trophy this yea 2010

  27. Tia says:

    Hayley and Dan are Brill and soo are the others and i dont know who might win

  28. margery says:

    I love Hayley and Daniel,they should win the competition out right,i think the only reason Daniella beat Hayley was the programme . Hayley and Daniel was given ,it was not their fought.,that was down to the experts. Hayley and Daniel to win.They are both Brilliant.

  29. paige says:

    omg i cat belive they went out they where very good lol lol omg omg

  30. paige says:

    Hayley and Daniel are the the best i wish they win i vote every week lol omg omg omg but the boyzone person had 2 go out because he had to do a show with the rest of them (boyzone) i think that is un fair

  31. paige says:

    i think that danceing on ice is always trying to get a lot of money

  32. paige says:

    yo sup i think this is not ok bye yo yo yo yo yo yo yo yo

  33. paige says:

    this has got nothing to do with danceing on ice but trumping around the ring once !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! some1 trumped on the ice ring!!

  34. paige says:

    i cant belive some1 farted on the ice ring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ew ew ew omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg ew ew ew ew ew ew ew ew ew

  35. paige says:

    LOVE THIS YO YO YO YO YO YO YO YO YO SUP MY PLAYERS I CANT STOP THINKING ABOUT FARTING ON THE ICE RING EW EW EW I CANT STOP SENDING LETTERS TO U FARTING EW EW EW

  36. Unknown says:

    MY pic is not working

  37. Unknown says:

    yes Hayley and Daniale are the proper WINNERS OF DANCEING ON ICE VOTE VOTE VOTE

  38. Unknown says:

    the only reson that hayley is good she has a dance teacher and gives them thing to put in2 the dance

  39. Stephanie says:

    I really hope Kieron and Brianne win, they have done very well to get this far

  40. gwyneth says:

    I HOPE KIERON OR GARY WIN AS HAYLEY IS TO BIG HEADED

  41. derek says:

    FOR HIS COMENTS ABOUT GARY & KIERON & ALSO BRINGING GARYS DAUGHTER TO TEARS THERE IS ONLY ONE PILLOCK ON DANCING ON ICE AND THATS JASON

Leave a comment